British Values

At Swillington Primary School we ensure that the fundamental British Values are introduced, discussed and lived out through the ethos and work of the school. All curriculum areas provide a vehicle for furthering understanding of these concepts and, in particular, RE, PSHE and Assemblies provide opportunities to deepen and develop understanding. We encourage our children to be creative, unique, open-minded and independent individuals, respectful of themselves and of others in our school, our local community and the wider world. We aim to nurture our children on their journey through life so they can grow into safe, caring, democratic, responsible and tolerant adults who make a positive difference to British Society and to the world.

The Department for Education defines British Values as follows:

  • Respect for democracy and support or participation in the democratic process
  • Respect for the basis on which the law is made and applies in England
  • Support for equality of opportunity for all
  • Support and respect for the liberties of all within the law
  • Respect for and tolerance of different faiths and religious and other beliefs

Dates for your diary

Events

Monday, June 24, 2024

EYFS New Starters Parent Meeting

5pm in the main hall

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Sports Day

Sports day at school (If poor weather, Thursday 27th June)

Northern Hemisphere AM

Southern Hemisphere PM

Friday, July 12, 2024

Dress down day

Bring a tombola gift

Reports out to parents

Thursday, July 18, 2024

Summer Fayre

School closures

Friday, July 5, 2024

Data Day

Useful Documents

No items found.

Term dates 2023-24

Holiday Dates

Term Dates

Autumn Term 1

Monday 4 September to Friday 27 October

Autumn Term 2

Spring Term 1

Monday 19 February to Thursday 28th March

Monday 8 January to Friday 9 February

Monday 6 November to Friday 22 December

Monday 15 April to Friday 24 May

Spring Term 2

Christmas Holidays

Monday 25 December to Friday 5 January

Half Term

Monday 30 October to Friday 3 November

Half Term

Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February

Summer Term 1

Easter Holidays

Friday 29th March to Friday 12 April

Summer Term 2

Half Term

Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May

Summer Holidays

Monday 22 July to Friday 30 August

Monday 3 June to Friday 19 July