Teaching

At Swillington Primary School, our mission is to provide a transformative cradle-to-career education that allows our children to enjoy lives of choice and opportunity.

All the teachers are qualified to teach across the Primary Age Range (5-11).

Sometimes teachers will move to teach a different year group – this is important for their continuing professional development.

Our teachers are highly reflective practitioners and engage in Instructional Coaching. Teachers and Teaching Assistants also access an observation tool called IRIS. IRIS allows practitioners to record, reflect and refine their own practice.

All the teachers are qualified to teach every National Curriculum subject and Religious Education.

The school employs several teaching assistants who provide invaluable support to children at the teacher’s direction.

The curriculum is enriched by many additional and extracurricular activities – the children are often taught by other adults, such as sports coaches, actors, and workshops provided in specific subjects such as design and technology, and history.

Dates for your diary

Events

Monday, June 24, 2024

EYFS New Starters Parent Meeting

5pm in the main hall

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Sports Day

Sports day at school (If poor weather, Thursday 27th June)

Northern Hemisphere AM

Southern Hemisphere PM

Friday, July 12, 2024

Dress down day

Bring a tombola gift

Reports out to parents

Thursday, July 18, 2024

Summer Fayre

School closures

Friday, July 5, 2024

Data Day

Useful Documents

Term dates 2023-24

Holiday Dates

Term Dates

Autumn Term 1

Monday 4 September to Friday 27 October

Autumn Term 2

Spring Term 1

Monday 19 February to Thursday 28th March

Monday 8 January to Friday 9 February

Monday 6 November to Friday 22 December

Monday 15 April to Friday 24 May

Spring Term 2

Christmas Holidays

Monday 25 December to Friday 5 January

Half Term

Monday 30 October to Friday 3 November

Half Term

Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February

Summer Term 1

Easter Holidays

Friday 29th March to Friday 12 April

Summer Term 2

Half Term

Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May

Summer Holidays

Monday 22 July to Friday 30 August

Monday 3 June to Friday 19 July